Translator please?

Every evening we (Tom and I), being the very mean parents that we are, FORCE our kids to join us at the dinner table for chow and chat time.  Natalie was especially resistant tonight as she had something specific she wanted to do.  She tried three times to get me to relent, but I was in a winning mood.  She sat down and said the following: (her voice in pink, mine in black since I am the evil parent in this scenario)

I wish that I didn’t have what I have right now.

What’s that?

You being satisfied with me.

What does that mean?

It means you are always telling me and in my beecational moments with the effect of it. 

What does that mean?

I don’t know, but it’s just be satisfied or something.

I wish I went off  la-dee-dahing right now.

The most challenging part of this, of course, is to not fall on the floor laughing. What a kid.

Having been in Norfolk for the past week for Sean’s ship’s homecoming, we made all our plans around Sean’s schedule, etc.  We fully expected him to walk off the ship onto the pier where we were waiting.  However, that was not to be as he had duty that day. So we skipped out and tried to explain all this to Natalie.  Here is her response:

Sean. Sean. Sean.  Why is it all about Sean?! 

Clearly she has failed to notice that so much of the last 13 years has been:  Natalie. Natalie. Natalie.

Leave a Reply

