There’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza…

Mom, can I have the iPad when I’m done with my homework?

Why is it that when this kid wants my stuff, she describes it in a non-possessive manner? She doesn’t say, “your iPad, Mom” she says “THE iPad” as if it is some neutral object in our household. Which is not the case. At all. Unless you keep track of usage times.

No.

Why not?

Because you have had enough screen time today. (Now don’t jump to the conclusion that this is one of those households where the minutes in front of a screen are counted and controlled. Heck, at this point even MONITORED would be a good thing.)

But Mooooooooooom!

Mad face. Arms folded HARD across her chest. Loud sigh.

Dejected. Disappointed. Disgusted. But Thinking.

Then:  FINE! I will buy a horse, then sell the horse and buy my OWN iPad! (Hmmm, the possessive has re-entered the equation. How coincidental.)

Good idea. Where will you get the money to buy the horse? I will buy a horse farm and then sell it. Where will you get the money for the horse farm? I will buy a miniature horse and sell it. You tube says you can get six for a buck.

Perhaps a song would cheer us both…  There’s a hole in the bucket, the bucket, the bucket, with what shall I fix it…..  And if you want to know what grips her attention on YouTube, making her willing to sell a HORSE FOR GOODNESS SAKE!!! Go here. but I’m warning you….. You might live to regret it. And by the way? I saw NOTHING about six miniature horses for a buck. So don’t get your hopes up.

5 thoughts on “There’s a hole in the bucket, dear Liza…

Leave a Reply

