Hot Cocoa Recipe

It is a cold morning here in Chicago, in my opinion. Because I am not on a beach in 84 degree temps with the sun beating down and the sand warming my feet…  I know, I know.  It is supposed to get up to 60 or something this weekend. But there was frost on the ground yesterday morning and my furnace is running.

I’ve been up since 5 a.m., walking around the house with a blanket wrapped around my shoulders. (I ordered a robe this morning, being the good CyberWeek citizen that I am.) I tried to make some Q&D (quick and dirty: engineer talk – makes me feel smart) hot chocolate. Milk and Hershey’s syrup is just a big let down.  Here is my official recipe that I make for our family…

Pour the first five ingredients in a pan and stir together:

1/3 cup cocoa (yeah that brown powder)
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp granulated espresso powder - just the cheap stuff you buy at the 
  every-day grocery store, but IMPORTANT.
pinch of salt

After you've stirred that together (makes it easier to mix the cocoa 
into a liquid), add 1/3 cup HOT water. Stir that together, heat over 
medium heat, stirring often. When it starts bubbling, keep stirring for 
two minutes. 
Add milk - I don't know how much - until you like the color? 
At least 4 - 6 cups.
Heat to your favorite hot cocoa temperature and drink.
Yum - guaranteed.
Leave a Reply

