Word of the Year : Hope

Around bloggy land there are many choosing a word of the year. I don’t usually jump into the pool HOWEVER I think I need a word of the year this year. Something to focus me in a better direction. There are lots of things going on, you know? whatevs, like, as if everyone’s life isn’t busy, right? just sayin’ THERE! I got rid of the words we are all sick of hearing. I hope to not hear those words this year!

I chose HOPE because over the last handful of years my outlook has moved away from hopeful (my typical m.o.) and toward fearful. I don’t like that. There are lots of reasons… Natalie’s health and the surprises therein, Natalie’s future, my age (don’t say it, don’t say it – I know. I don’t look a DAY over 70) etc. That’s the thing about living with a child that will never be self-sufficient… there are always things to worry about. Some things can be planned for, some things can be secured with more money than I have, some things can only be hoped for and prayed for.

So here is this:

hope

Hope. A light in the darkest night.

and this:

a gorgeous necklace you'll see me wearing this year

I ordered this gorgeous necklace¬† and you’ll see me wearing it all year! The pic doesn’t do it justice.

and, lastly, this:

when Natalie was born I was truly surprised that she was a girl. (After giving birth to three boys, I figured another boy was inevitable, although not to say BAD. I love my boys. Of course.) It took us a few days to figure out her name. And by coinkydink, we gave her the middle name of Hope! Little did we know how much we would need hope in the years to come, and it was always there, in many ways. It is funny how things work out… my dear daughter-by-marriage (I hate the word STEP- before anything)… Kari has my first name as her middle name! What a nice coinkydink! (Hmmm. maybe coinkydink is another word to ban from the list. I’m not sure.)

So that’s it. Hope. Hopeful. Hopefilled. Hoping. Hoper? Maybe I could change my middle name to Hoper. Although people would think it was Hopper and that wouldn’t be quite the same…

I hope (ACK! There it is again!) your year is filled with things that give you hope. Without hope, how do we live a good life? Blessings and peace to you this year. and hope. For me, hope might be different than it is for you:

Psalm 33:22
May your unfailing love be with us, LORD, even as we put our hope in you.

Hebrews 6:18
God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged.

My hope is in God through Jesus … it is not a wish. It is a promise.

The Lettered Cottage
3 thoughts on “Word of the Year : Hope

  1. I loved this post. I pondered, learned a new word: ‘coinkydink’ (although the Urban dictionary’s def probably isn’t the way you meant it) and laughed out loud over your possible new middle name, “Hoper”.

    I love the word “HOPE”.

    • hahahaha!!!!!!! Deb! I had no idea it meant anything other than “coincidence”… yup, definitely going into my “do not use this word” list! thank you!

  2. There is a little book written by B. Obama….the book itself is of no consequence but I love the title. “Audacity of Hope” because it made me think…Hope is an audacious notion…to inspire to hope, to remain hopeful are all such remarkably huge undertakings…that it’s Audacious! Maybe that will be my word this year….we shall see….Have an audacious New Year!

Leave a Reply

