Bread and Pickles, Anyone?

For those of you who do NOT know, my daughter has been food-consumption-challenged pretty much since birth. She eats pizza, hot dogs, chocolate chip bagels-muffin tops – cookies, vanilla ice cream, some crackers. Drinks only ice water.

So tonight as I am wrapping up the day’s work she walks into my office with two pieces of white bread in one hand, as she bites and eats a pickle held in the other hand.

white bread : Slice of bread cartoon    

I ask the very intelligent question, “What have you got there?”

“Bread and pickles.”

More intelligent questions: “Yeah?  You like those?”

“Yeah. I think I need to cut back on junk food.”

I don’t care. I’m just happy WHATEVER food she eats!

Because the whole journey of feeding this child and getting her to gain weight has been quite an adventure. YEAH NATALIE for eating something she has found, chosen and served for herself INDEPENDENTLY!!!!

Leave a Reply

